One more for Moore, a fine first for Finn

2017 end-of-season report

The 2017 Harvey Curtis Sussex Road Race Challenge (SRRC) concluded at a calm and sunny Brighton 10k on 19th November. Although the perfect conditions guaranteed fast times, the racing between top SRRC athletes to decide final placings was not as close or dramatic as had been hoped.

Rebecca Moore has now won a hat-trick of HC-SRRC titles

Rebecca Moore (Chichester AC) came into the final race as leader of the women’s series, and her only potential threat was from Izzy Coomber (Lewes AC). Unfortunately Coomber, who has been struggling with injuries, was unable to compete at Brighton, leaving Moore to storm home to the race victory in 34:51 and seal the series win – her third SRRC title in a row. Coomber was still assured second place overall, ahead of Tara Shanahan (Arena 80) who narrowly snatched third place on count-back from Sue Fry (Hailsham Harriers).

Finn McNally won the first three fixtures, wrapping up the title early

The men’s contest was sown up early after Finn McNally (Phoenix) cruised to victory in the first three races of the series. It is hoped this Sussex title will be a springboard to even greater success on the national and international road race scene for McNally. James Westlake (Crawley AC) was the man who was able to get closest to McNally, recording three second places, one fourth and first Sussex place at the Brighton 10k. This gave Westlake a final score of five to McNally’s three. The evergreen Neil Boniface (Horsham Joggers / Crawley AC) secured third place on nine points.

Boniface therefore took the Masters title with an optimal total score of three points. James Skinner (Haywards Heath Harriers) and Graham Godden (Brighton & Hove AC) were tied on seven points, with Skinner declared second on count-back.

The women’s Masters title was taken by Shanahan followed by Sue Fry (Hailsham Harriers) and Dani Tarleton (Arena 80) taking third.

The team contest was taken for the second year in a row by a dominant Arena 80, whose talented women strongly contributed to them winning every race in the series. Lewes AC were a distant second and Hayward Heath Harriers completed the podium in third.

This year’s prize-giving is planned to take place at the Swan pub in Falmer after either the Southern Cross Country Champs (27th January) or the last Sussex Cross Country league fixture of the season (10th February) – depending on Brighton & Hove Albion fixtures. We hope lots of athletes, coaches and supporters will be able to come along to celebrate a great season of racing.

The 2018 SRRC begins with the Chichester 10k on 4th February.