Rojas and Moore crowned 2014 Sussex Road Race champions

Heading into the final race of the 2014 Harvey Curtis Sussex Road Race Challenge (SRRC), the Brighton 10k, the outcome of the men’s contest was almost too close to call — with Neil Boniface (Horsham Joggers) leading by just one point ahead of Kevin Rojas (Brighton & Hove City AC). The week before, as a dress rehearsal, the pair had gone head-to-head over 5k around Hove Park — and it was Boniface who showed slightly keener form, with a swift 15:15, four seconds ahead Rojas.

Champion Kevin Rojas (L) with Harvey Curtis's Matt Bradford

Champion Kevin Rojas (L) with Harvey Curtis’s Matt Bradford

In the main event, over the 10k distance at Brighton, it was Rojas who was back in charge, hanging on to the leaders for much of the way, and clocking a season’s best 31:04. Credit to Boniface, though, who crossed the line just 16 seconds later, recording his fastest 10k since 2010. This meant the duo were tied on points in the SRRC standings, so it came down to a count-back — and Rojas took the £300 top prize and champion’s trophy, with a threefold head-to-head advantage. Third place in the series went to Matt Bradford (Lewes AC).

The women’s title was a clearer-cut affair, after Rebecca Moore (Worthing & District Harriers) won all three of the races she contested, taking the title without dropping a single point. It was a close battle for second and third, however. Going into the final race, Sarah Roff (Hastings AC) was second in the standings, on five points, ahead of Emily Proto (Arena 80) on six and Helena Tobin (Brighton & Hove City AC) on seven. With Roff sidelined by injury for the Brighton 10k, Tobin made the most of her chance and romped home in 35:12 — first Sussex woman, and nearly two minutes clear of Proto. This meant Tobin and Proto finished the season on eight points apiece, but with the head-to-head record in Tobin’s favour.

Runaway series winner Rebecca Moore - pictured on the podium of the Barns Green HM

Runaway series winner Rebecca Moore – pictured on the podium of the Barns Green HM

In the team contest, Lewes AC notched up its third win of the series at the Brighton 10k, securing the overall victory, well clear of 2013 team champions Horsham Joggers in second and Haywards Heath Harriers third.

Full final standings can be viewed here.

The SRRC prize-giving took place at the Crowborough 10k on 30th November. Next year’s series will take place over five races, with each competitor’s best three to count. The full 2015 calendar can be viewed here and rules here.